Alice Magne

Alice Magne (1998) is a French artist living in Nice. Her education path led her to attend two of the most prestigious European art schools: the Villa Arson, where she graduated with honors, and the Chelsea College of Arts in London (MFA). In 2024, she won the Art Eco-Design Art Prize organized by Art of Change 21, in partnership with the Palais de Tokyo.

Over the past few years, Alice has developed a particular painting technique that she named “bundle-dyeing”. In her works, the flower is both the subject and the brush. Its purpose and its only tool to achieve it.

Indeed, through a meticulous and almost scientific process, Alice Magne creates her own colors using plant pigments naturally extracted. The canvas itself is washed, degreased, and dyed naturally, before receiving, in a second step, plant imprints. With changing several parameters such as time, humidity, temperature, and pH, an infinite variety of shapes can come to fruition.

Alice's work only exists through the encounter: the poetic one, between a canvas stripped of its chemical components and subtle evanescent plant traces. But also the ideological one, between a body of work and an artist whose doctrine aims to be concerned with contemporary imperatives of ethics and ecology.

If the technique of folding the canvas to create a repetition of patterns evokes the creations of Simon Hantaï, the connection between the “Supports/Surfaces” movement and the paintings of Alice Magne is evident. Whether through the physical treatment of the support - the canvas -, or the uncontrolled reaction of the colors on it, the connection with artists like Claude Viallat, André Valensi or Jean-Pierre Pincemin is obvious as well.

'Oxalis/Millepertuis, 2022'

image Oxalis/Millepertuis, 2022
Oxalis/Millepertuis, 2022

'Bois de Campêche, 2022'

image Bois de Campêche, 2022
Bois de Campêche, 2022

'Oxalis/Campêche, 2023'

image Oxalis/Campêche, 2023
Oxalis/Campêche, 2023

'Gaura Papillon, 2022'

image Gaura Papillon, 2022
Gaura Papillon, 2022

'Oxalis/Noix de Galle, 2024'

image Oxalis/Noix de Galle, 2024
Oxalis/Noix de Galle, 2024

'Oxalis/Noix de Galle 2, 2022'

image Oxalis/Noix de Galle 2, 2022
Oxalis/Noix de Galle 2, 2022

'Oxalis Articulata / Noix de Galle, 2022'

image Oxalis Articulata / Noix de Galle, 2022
Oxalis Articulata / Noix de Galle, 2022

Alice Magne

Alice Magne (1998) est une jeune artiste française vivant à Nice. Son parcours de formation artistique l’a mené à fréquenter deux des écoles les plus prestigieuses du continent : la Villa Arson, diplômée avec les félicitations du jury, et le Chelsea College of Arts de Londres (MFA).

Alice a récemment développé une technique picturale particulière, qu’elle nomme « teinture en bouquet » (bundle-dyeing). Dans ses œuvres, la fleur est à la fois le sujet du tableau, mais aussi son pinceau. Elle est, en quelque sorte, sa finalité plastique, et son seul véritable moyen pour y parvenir.

En effet, par le biais d’un processus méticuleux, quasi-scientifique, Alice Magne crée ses propres couleurs en utilisant des pigments végétaux directement extraits de plantes. La toile elle-même, est lavée, dégraissée et teinte naturellement, avant de recevoir, dans un second temps, des empreintes végétales. En changeant plusieurs paramètres tels que le temps, l’humidité, la température et le pH, une variété infinie de formes peuvent se concrétiser.

Le travail d’Alice n’existe que par la rencontre : celle poétique, entre une toile débarrassée de ses lourdeurs chimiques et de subtiles traces végétales évanescentes. Mais aussi celle idéologique, entre un corpus d’œuvres et une artiste dont la pensée plastique se veut être soucieuse des impératifs contemporains d’éthique et d’écologie.

Si la technique de pliage de la toile pour y créer une répétition de motifs, évoque les créations de Simon Hantaï, la filiation entre le mouvement « Supports/Surfaces » et les tableaux d’Alice Magne est également indéniable. Que ce soit par le traitement physique du support -la toile-, ou encore la réaction non-maitrisée des couleurs sur celle-ci, le rapprochement avec des artistes comme Claude Viallat, André Valensi ou Jean-Pierre Pincemin est évident.

'Oxalis/Millepertuis, 2022'

image Oxalis/Millepertuis, 2022
Oxalis/Millepertuis, 2022

'Bois de Campêche, 2022'

image Bois de Campêche, 2022
Bois de Campêche, 2022

'Oxalis/Campêche, 2023'

image Oxalis/Campêche, 2023
Oxalis/Campêche, 2023

'Gaura Papillon, 2022'

image Gaura Papillon, 2022
Gaura Papillon, 2022

'Oxalis/Noix de Galle 2, 2022'

image Oxalis/Noix de Galle 2, 2022
Oxalis/Noix de Galle 2, 2022