Gyula Sági

“Energy, repetition, order, and disorder are the main principles of the Universe. So I chose them to be the basis of my working methods. My works are sensitive gesture “paintings” and, due to their repetitive technique, meditative tools for me.”

Gyula Sági (b.1987) is a young Hungarian artist who studied visual arts and graduated at the University of Western Hungary in 2010. He lives and works in Berlin since 2014 and takes part in solo and group shows both in Hungary and abroad.

Sági creates his large-scale paper works with ink, pencil and ball-pen and combines traditional graphical and painting techniques. His series, unifying geometric abstraction and gesture painting, are experiments with forms. He concentrates on the pure formations of things, finding inspiration in the technology, digital imaging and repetitive structural systems created by nature.

In his works in the early 2010s, Sági sought to synthetize visual languages of geometric and organic abstraction. In the series entitled 'Analog Noise', started in 2016, the artist is interested in the imaging of the time and in the patterns produced by “failures” in the process of signs’ repetition. While the body of works 'Chromatic Aberration' is referring to the optical phenomenon when the light breaks up on the edge of a lens to the colors of the rainbow. 'Organic Abstract', a series created in 2010, contains works that look like microscopic images. How the image is taking shape on the paper, signal by signal and layer by layer, is a very similar process to what happens in the genetic codes.

“Conceptuality is just as much as important to me as the aesthetic result: what interests me is the physical dimension of time and the visual representation of the change of time based on a given algorithm."

'Op.060323'

image Op.060323
Op.060323

'Op.051023'

image Op.051023
Op.051023

'Op.261123'

image Op.261123
Op.261123

'Op.201123'

image Op.201123
Op.201123

'Op.131023'

image Op.131023
Op.131023

'Op.241123'

image Op.241123
Op.241123

Gyula Sági

« L'énergie, la répétition, l'ordre et le désordre sont les grands principes de l'Univers. Je les ai donc choisis pour être la base de ma méthode de travail. Mes œuvres sont des « peintures gestuelles sensibles » et, du fait de leur technique répétitive, des sources de méditation personnelle ».

Gyula Sági (né en 1987) est un jeune artiste hongrois qui a étudié les arts visuels et obtenu son diplôme à l'Université de Hongrie en 2010. Il vit et travaille à Berlin depuis 2014 et participe à des expositions individuelles et collectives en Hongrie et à l'étranger.

Sági crée ses œuvres sur papier à l’aide de crayons, de stylos et d’encres ; il combine des techniques graphiques et picturales traditionnelles. Ses séries, unifiant abstraction géométrique et peinture gestuelle, sont des expérimentations de formes. Il se concentre sur des ‘formes pures’, s'inspirant de la technologie, de l'imagerie numérique et des systèmes structurels répétitifs créés par la nature.

Dans ses œuvres du début des années 2010, Sági a cherché à synthétiser les langages visuels de l'abstraction géométrique et organique. Dans la série intitulée ‘Analog Noise’, débutée en 2016, l'artiste s'intéresse à l'imagerie du temps et aux motifs produits par les « échecs » dans le processus de répétition des signes. Les œuvres issues de 'Chromatic Aberration', quant à elles, se réfèrent au phénomène optique créé lorsque la lumière se pose sur l'angle d'un bout de verre ou d'une lentille et s'habille des couleurs de l'arc-en-ciel. Enfin, 'Organic Abstract', série imaginée dès 2010, propose des pièces qui évoquent des images microscopiques. La façon dont l'œuvre prend forme sur le papier, couche par couche, est un processus très similaire à ce qui se passe dans les codes génétiques.

« La conceptualité est tout aussi importante pour moi que le résultat esthétique : ce qui m'intéresse, c'est la dimension physique du temps et sa représentation visuelle selon un algorithme donné. »

'Op.060323'

image Op.060323
Op.060323

'Op.051023'

image Op.051023
Op.051023

'Op.261123'

image Op.261123
Op.261123

'Op.201123'

image Op.201123
Op.201123

'Op.131023'

image Op.131023
Op.131023

'Op.241123'

image Op.241123
Op.241123