Karian Amaya

Karian Amaya (Chihuahua - Mexico, 1986) lives and works in Guadalajara.

She holds a degree in visual arts from the University of Guadalajara and studied at the Art Students League in New York. Karian also had a residency in 2022 at the famous Casa Wabi, designed by Tadao Ando and founded by one of the greatest contemporary Mexican artist, Bosco Sodi.

Karian Amaya's artistic practice revolves around the notion of encounter. Through sculpture and photography, the artist questions the dialogues and resistances that originate between matter, the landscape, and their social and territorial contexts.

Deeply influenced by the land art and post-minimal movements, her work is rooted in the formal and narrative encounter of raw, natural, and industrial materials.

Amaya is the daughter of a copper miner ; in her creations, she explores her interest in pointing out the extractive of natural minerals and the fragility they contain over time.

As a sculptor, she frequently uses the circular shape, which has been a key symbol for many centuries in both aesthetic and philosophical cultures in North and South America. As an example, Karian Amaya is citing the great author Jorge Luis Borges as a major source of inspiration and directly used the name of one of his novels ("The Circular Ruins") for an eponymous sculpture series she created.

'Alba (White)'

image Alba (White)
Alba (White)

'The Circular Ruins'

image The Circular Ruins
The Circular Ruins

'Lento Atardecer'

image Lento Atardecer
Lento Atardecer

'Alba (Black)'

image Alba (Black)
Alba (Black)

Karian Amaya

Karian Amaya (Chihuahua - Mexique, 1986) vit et travaille à Guadalajara.

Elle est titulaire d'un diplôme en arts visuels de l'Université de Guadalajara et a étudié à l'Art Students League de New York. Karian a également effectué une résidence en 2022 à la célèbre Casa Wabi, conçue par Tadao Ando et fondée par l'un des plus grands artistes mexicains contemporains, Bosco Sodi.

La pratique artistique de Karian Amaya s'articule autour de la notion de rencontre. À travers la sculpture et la photographie, l'artiste interroge les dialogues et les résistances qui naissent entre la matière, le paysage et leurs contextes sociaux et territoriaux.

Profondément influencée par le land-art et post-minimalisme, son travail est enraciné dans la rencontre formelle et narrative de matériaux bruts, naturels et industriels.

Amaya est la fille d'un mineur ; dans ses créations, elle lui rend par ailleurs un vibrant hommage, en choisissant de mettre en lumière l'extraction de minéraux naturels et la fragilité qu'ils contiennent au fil du temps.

En tant que sculpteur, elle utilise fréquemment la forme circulaire, qui est un symbole clé depuis de nombreux siècles dans les cultures esthétiques et philosophiques d'Amérique du Nord et du Sud. Pour preuve, Karian Amaya cite le grand auteur Jorge Luis Borges comme source d'inspiration majeure et a directement utilisé le nom de l'une de ses nouvelles (« Les Ruines Circulaires ») pour une série de sculptures éponyme qu'elle a créée.

'Alba (White)'

image Alba (White)
Alba (White)

'The Circular Ruins'

image The Circular Ruins
The Circular Ruins

'Lento Atardecer'

image Lento Atardecer
Lento Atardecer

'Alba (Black)'

image Alba (Black)
Alba (Black)